Seeking Eden
Text thumbnail

Seeking Eden
by Turnbull, Ann

This is the conclusion of Ann Turnbull's epic story of love and the struggle to stay true to what is most important - in spite of parents, society and even the law. "Seeking Eden" is the final chapter of Ann Turnbull's long-awaited "Quaker" trilogy. Will and Susanna Heywood (No Shame, No Fear and Forged in the Fire), now in their thirties, move, with their four children, to Pennsylvania, where freedom of religious thought is everyone's right. This is the story of their eldest child, Josiah, who finds work with George Bainbrigg in the dock area of Philadelphia and falls in love with his daughter, Kate. When they travel to Barbados on business and stay with Friends who are harassed by local laws, Josiah is shocked to learn that Quakers have slaves and that his boss deals in the slave trade. Once they return home, Josiah and Kate try to help two slaves who are in love, Antony and Patience, to attain their freedom - knowing the risks involved may result in lives that are even more unbearable. "Seeking Eden" provides the perfect ending to a brilliant epic story.


Publication date: 2012

ISBN: URN:ISBN:9781406325423

OPAC reference: KOHA-OAI-BCP:1886

Reserve this item